Nominate An Outstanding Colleague For An Evy Award


The American Academy of Cosmetic Dentistry (AACD) is seeking nominations for their annual Celebration of Excellence Awards, also known as the Evy.

Since 1988, the AACD has publicly recognised dental professionals who make significant contributions to the field of cosmetic dentistry and those who make a positive and influential impact on the Academy, the profession, and their communities.

Membership-wide award categories include: 

• Excellence in Cosmetic Dentistry Education Award

• Hall of Fame Award

• AACD Humanitarian Award

• Outstanding Innovation in Cosmetic Dentistry Award

• Outstanding Service Award

• AACD Rising Star Award

Industry-wide award categories include:

• Lifetime Achievement Award

• Journal of Cosmetic Dentistry (jCD) Award

Previous Lifetime Achievement Award recipient, Ray Bowen, was awarded for his development of dental composites and efforts leading to the creation of BIS-GMA resin among other notable dental materials. Andi Jean Miro, DDS received the Rising Star Award for being the only NYU undergraduate to have an article accepted and published in the Journal of Cosmetic Dentistry.

Affiliate awards are also bestowed to noteworthy AACD Affiliate Members who demonstrate tremendous dedication to the AACD and its mission and contribute significantly to the growth and leadership of their Affiliate. AACD Affiliate organisations help to extend the mission of the Academy into their local areas, educating the world’s cosmetic dentists and raising awareness for AACD programs and events. A great example of affiliates fulfilling this mission is AACD Affiliate Member, Mohan Bhuvaneswaran, MDS, AAACD who successfully designed and executed the first meeting of the Academy of Cosmetic Dentistry India (ACDI) in 2017. Under his leadership, the meeting garnered great attention and was extremely well attended.

Affiliate award categories include:

• Affiliate Leader Award

• AACD Affiliate Spirit

Past President, Dwight Rickert, CDT, FAACD explained why he believes colleagues within the cosmetic dentistry industry should nominate one another for these honourable awards, “It is precisely this drive for achievement and dedication to professional excellence that sets the AACD apart as a community. No matter where you are in your professional endeavors in cosmetic dentistry, you are part of a living breathing system of knowledge and expertise… This is truly something worth celebrating.”

If you know of a colleague who is making significant contributions to the field of cosmetic dentistry and/or to the Academy itself, please nominate them for one of these distinguished awards. The AACD would like to thank and recognise these outstanding individuals who have made a tremendous impact.

The Evy Awards will be presented during the Celebration of Excellence closing reception at AACD 2019 in San Diego. Nominations are due by Friday, 11th January 2019 at 5 p.m. CT.